The Perfect Sweater

I am knitting a perfect sweater. Or actually a cardigan. I was showing it to someone, and that person said the magic words: “You should start a blog about knitting”. And I though, hmmmm, why not…

That sweater pattern can be found in http://www.knitty.com/ISSUEwinter08/PATTmontera.php. Except…

a) I’m not using Classic Elite Montera wool. I guess my sweater can’t be called Montera then… I’m using Berroco Ultra Alpaca, 50% alpaca, 50% wool. (www.berroco.com). The main reason to this is that I found the wool first… And needed a perfect sweater pattern to justify buying it. So the wool came first. Fair enough.

b) Since I’m using Berroco I had troubles with the gauge. Montera has 14sts/21rows on four inches of stockinette. Mine has 20sts/26rows. I had to re-calculate the gauge. I did it wrong once and had to unravel the whole thing – only five days’ worth of knitting. I usually don’t swear but that episode got me very very close to saying ugly things.

c) I also wanted a different challenge with the cable. I found a beautiful celtic style cable pattern while surfing the web – can’t remember anymore where exactly – and adapted it for the sweater.

 dscn0862

The problem will be splitting the cable into two later – I have no idea how I’m going to pull it off… For the front of the sweater I’m knitting a simpler cable with three strands (or whatever they’re called) since the celtic cable has six. So that’ll match in the end. Right now I’m not even going to worry about splitting the cable, I’ll deal with it when I get there. Which should take another three to four weeks…

Leave a Reply

