Tidbits of the week

It’s been a busy week for me. I started another jewellery class on Monday – about enameling. It’s really fun (and frustrating at times – lifting a piece up when I’ve just shifted the enamel on, and knocking it down…) but it means that Mondays and Wednesdays are almost 15-hour days for me… Well, it only goes on for three weeks.

Enameling, just in case you don’t know, is making designs with metal and glass. What we’ve been doing so far has been covering a piece of metal with thin layers of glass. You can also cut holes in metal and fill them with glass or many other things – but we’re just getting started… You start with sand, mixed with metal oxides for colours. You shift it on the piece of metal and burn it in the kiln to melt the sand into glass. It’s fun!!!

To be honest, when I signed up I didn’t even know what enameling was… 🙂

My boss used to make jewellery years ago. She was cleaning up her house this week, and came across some beads that she hasn’t used it years. So the next day she came to work with a goodie box for me… There are some beatiful beads of glass, silver and onyx as well as fresh water pearls… I took all the plastic ones and added them into the kids’ beading supplies at work but I kept the nice ones. 🙂 I haven’t had time to play with them yet, though.

The only thing I’ve had energy for this week has been spinning. It really helps me to relax after a long day (or a shorter day as well – we’re running day camps and it does get tiring…) I dyed some of the wool yesterday – here’s my stash of handspun so far:

DSCN1437

I wonder what neighbours think when they see my yarn hanging on outside… I add weights to keep the yarn straight.

DSCN1421

This coming week will be busy as well. Besides the class, on Tuesday night there’s a meeting with the Etsy sellers in Vancouver and the Etsy admin people from the States. I’m looking forward to it!!

2 thoughts on “Tidbits of the week

Leave a Reply

