Sweet Potato Hummus

I found a great recipe for sweet potato hummus. Even my cats found it irresistible – I had such a hard time keeping them off my plate at lunch!

You need:

  • 1 sweet potato (I used orange yam)
  • 1 19oz (540ml) can of chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 3 gloves of garlic
  • 3 tbsp lemon juice
  • salt and pepper to taste

Bake the potato in 200C / 400F until it’s tender. Once it has cooled down split it in half and scoop the insides out with a spoon. Toss them in the food processor with the rest of the ingredients and blend until smooth. You may have to add a little bit of water for proper texture.

That’s it. Simple. And delicious…

My twist (because I have to have one) was to roast the garlic in the oven as well. Baking the potato took for about an hour; I roasted the garlic for the last 15min or so. Yummy…

The original recipe called for 1 tbsp olive oil. I left it out and didn’t miss it.

I wonder how the hummus would look like made with purple yam…

Leave a Reply

