January’s Stich: Old Shale

If you have been reading my blog you might remember that one of my new year’s resolutions was to learn a new knitting pattern every month. Just to clarify, by that I meant a stich pattern. I have a wonderful book in my shelf called The Complete Encyclopedia of Stichery. It includes more than 1,000 different stiches for knitting, crocheting, embroidery, etc… And this amazing treasure has been sitting in the shelf, unused, for too long.

However, I did not want to only learn a stich, I wanted to use it for something. Since I know three people who are expecting their first babies this coming spring, making baby blankets seemed like a great way to learn.

Here’s the first one; pink blanket in Old Shale.

Work in progress

Old Shale, a.k.a Feather and Fan, is (according my book) “among the well-known Shetland lace designs.” It’s a lovely but simple pattern and it made a lovely blanket. I knitted it with Bernat Handicraft worsted weight cotton (i.e. dish cloth yarn) – relatively inexpensive but wondefully soft yarn!

Here’s how Old Shale works:

Cast on multiple of 18 sts.
Row 1: Knit
Row 2: Purl
Row 3: Repeat the following: k2tog three times. *yo, k1* six times. K2tog three times.
Row 4: Knit

That is all there is to it! Simple! Besides a baby blanket, I think it would make a lovely shawl or scarf with some soft yarn…

Leave a Reply

