Kitchen Rug – The Beginning

We have a little rug in our kitchen. It’s in a bad shape… The colours are faded and the edges are unraveling, and it seems there’s no point in mending the rug – it would not last very long anyway.

We also have a pile of old t-shirts. They were dedicated to spend the rest of their life as cleaning rags – until I discovered this:

The principle is not new to me. At home, mom would save every piece of cloth and we would then cut them into strips to be woven into rugs. Mom has a loom; I made my first rug when I was 12. Even when I moved to Canada, an ocean and a continent away, I brought two of my rugs with me…

I just had never thought about using the old fabric strips as knitting yarn. But now I’m inspired. On Friday I played around with some RIT dyes. Then I’ve been cutting the t-shirts into strips and now my wrists hurt… I have a 15mm circular knitting needle that turned out to be too big – I need a 10mm one. Once I get that I’ll start knitting.

Stay tuned – I’ll tell more when I get the knitting going…

Leave a Reply

