Food Confessions

Aaaah, food… I am a food junkie. Good food makes me happy, whether it is a fresh batch of brownies or hubby’s chicken curry. I grew up in a small farm, eating produce from our own garden and meat from our cows. It was a natural relationship with food – I never had an issue with naming the cutest calf, knowing that in about a year we’d be eating fresh beef. Little bit of dirt adds flavour to carrots, and you’ve never tasted a tomato if you haven’t eaten it after picking it from the vine in the greenhouse just a second before!

In the recent years food has been more of an issue. After moving to Canada I haven’t been able to eat much meat. I’m not able to digest the farm-grow meat here – even the Canadian beef that is not supposed to have growth hormones. For nearly four years I have been a struggling vegetarian. Jason calls me “flexitarian” since I still eat fish and occasional chicken – his chicken curry with cashews is just too good to pass… I’ve given in to bacon and beef jerky a couple of times, and I’ve always paid the price afterwards, staying up all night with insane stomach cramps.

Besides meat, my other issue is sugar. My mother is a baker and I learned lots of delicious recipes from her over the years. Like I said, fresh batch of brownies… 🙂 I also happen to have a great love for black liquorice. And replacing a dinner with a bowl of ice cream every now and then can’t kill you… Or can it?

I’ve put on quite a bit of weight in the past year. It’s been sneaking up on me – little by little all my jeans have been getting tighter until I have only one pair left that fits. Recent discussions with my doctor were more of a wake-up call. I’m not in a bad shape – overweight but not fat – but because of family history, I’m in a risk group for type 2 diabetes. It is really time to do something about it!

I am not a fan of diets. I don’t believe in them, especially their long-term impact. Recently I found this marvelous episode of one of our favourite cooking shows, Good Eats.  Alton Brown explains his system for healthy weight loss, based on more nutrients and less empty calories. Jason and I have decided to try this system out and see what happens.

I’ve also decided to go through an easy detox to get off to a good start. I have a good cookbook in the kitchen shelf. It is called The Modern Ayurvedic Cookbook, and it is full of healthy, wholesome recipes for balanced living. There is an idea for a detox, and I’m in the middle of it. This is my first day of eating only raw foods. Then two days of liquids only, then back to raw foods and adding everything else little by little.

Today’s breakfast was fruit. Lunch is lettuce-parsley-carrot-nut salad without a dressing of any kind… Not my favourite but I think a couple of days will be fine. And maybe I’ll really enjoy some salad next week after having only liquids for a couple of days! Good thing is, it’s summer. All the greens in my bowl are really fresh – and there are fresh raspberries in the garden! Yay! 🙂

Leave a Reply

