Business Decisions

It’s been just about one year since I decided to have a serious go at having my own business and making stuff. It is time to evaluate and make some decisions based on what I have learned. And here’s what:

One year ago I was determined to make my living by making silver jewellery. I had some creative ideas, and I am rather proud of the henna-design pendants. Some of them are quite nice. However, they have not been selling as well as I had hoped for.

However, the more I try to focus on working with silver the more I feel the pull towards my knitting needles. Making jewellery is fun but I don’t love it the way I love knitting. I don’t have the same passion for it. Working with silver feels like work, working with yarn is pure joy. There is no better way to describe it, really.

For the past year my online shop has had a little bit of this and that, resulting in a total jumble of things. I have to find focus and make the shop more cohesive. Otherwise it will just confuse potential customers. I have known this for a long time but just haven’t done anything about it – since I could not decide what to do!

The main reason I started making jewellery (besides it being new and fun) was that it would be easier to make a decent living with it. Knitting is more of a challenge – it is harder to get decent hourly wages out of it. However, I’m not sure that’s good enough a reason to keep me going with silver. What happens when there are no sales? I already know; I will reach for the knitting needles because that is what I love doing.

It sounds fancy to say that I’m a jewellery designer… But I think I will have to change that to a knitwear designer or fiber artist instead. I will have to work harder to make living, and I will risk the health of my wrists (we’ll see how long until I develop carpal tunnel syndrome) but that’s how it has to be.

From now on, Elina Designs will sell knitted things. From now on, that will be the only thing I’ll make – unless, of course, I get a specific custom order for something else… And I really think people know the joy I feel while knitting since all the knitted items sell much better than anything else. So I’d be better off doing what I love; wasn’t that the whole point to begin with?

Leave a Reply

