Summer reading list

Three years ago I gave myself a challenge; to read as many classics over the summer as I could. That has since become a summer thing for me. I think it has a lot to do with having more time and less studying, etc, so my brain is more free to handle old-fashioned English…

My absolute favourite authors are Jane Austen and Charles Dickens. I think I’ve read every book from Austen by now. Until this summer I’ve been hesitant to pick up Dickens’s thicker novels – David Copperfield and Pickwick Papers look quite intimidating… But I included Copperfield into my reading list this summer, and was absolutely delighted.

So here’s my reading list from this summer:

David Copperfield by Charles Dickens

The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon

The Friday Night Knitting Club by Kate Jacobs

April in Paris by Michael Wallner

Under the Paw: Confessions of a Cat Man by Tom Cox (in progress)

A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens (in progress)

The Zero-Mile Diet by Carolyn Herriot (in progress)

Well, yes, it’s not all classics… But I usually don’t read them at all through the rest of the year so there…

My reading is like my knitting; I always have a few different WIPs (works in progress).

All of these are good books. If  I had to pick a favourite it would probably be Copperfield or The Shadow of the Wind. Great books, both. April in Paris started well but turned out quite boring. And I’d rather knit than read about other people knitting… Under the Paw is hilarious (it’s about a man who loves cats; he has five of them…) and the Zero-Mile Diet is very inspiring, it’s all about growing your own food. I haven’t really read any horrible books this summer which is good. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Summer reading list

    • My favourite way of choosing books; I go to the local library, check their “recommended reading” section and pick the books based on the cover! I go for dreamy-looking covers with black-and-white or muted-coloured pictures. Sometimes it works (The Shadow of the Wind), at other times it doesn’t (April in Paris).

      Reading classics was inpired by two books; Matilda by Roald Dahl (one of my all time favourite books!!! Since I was eight…) and Reading Lolita in Tehran by Azar Nafisi. Both are books about girls reading books, and I totally recommend both!

Leave a Reply

