Hard work, wool and tea

Here’s what an effective workspace should look like:

Coordinated chaos

Well, the bananas don’t necessarily contribute to the effectiveness… But they make great snacks! The orange mug is my constant companion – I’m trying hard not to have too much tea throughout the day!

That’s our dining table, by the way. I try to tidy it up before hubby gets home, so we can actually have some dinner… Although there are days when we end up eating in front of the desk, watching Mythbusters on justin.tv – just because the dining table was looking, well, effective.

I have a lot going on right now. I’m trying to make as many pairs of fingerless gloves as I possibly can – considering I sold many of those last year. I’ve also been making big scarves and cowls – some of them are up on Etsy. All in all, I have more ideas than I have time to knit!

I did make a lovely investment and ordered some knitting books from Amazon. Here’s my list of lovelies;

Cables and Arans by Erika Knight
Lace and Eyelets by same
Knitwear Design Workshop by Shirley Paden
French Girl Knits by Kristeen Griffin-Crimes

First two are great stitch reference books. I can use those stitch ideas for anything… I’ve already used one of the cables on a pair of gloves, and it turned out wonderful! Knitwear Design Workshop is a book I’ve been coveting a long time. It explains everything a person needs to know about designing knits, especially sweaters. I don’t know much about design but am hoping to learn… I’m already beginning to understand the basic concepts of fit and silhouette.

French Girl Knits is just a lovely book full of (surprise!) French-inspired garments. This book is just for me, not for making money. I want to make about four sweaters from there – and keep them!

But now you’ve got your update on what I’ve been up to. I’m getting back to work! 🙂 See you later!

Leave a Reply

