Beginnings

I have a new job. 🙂

For the past year, I’ve been working in an office for a non-profit organization. I learned very quickly that I was not made to sit and stare at a computer screen eight hours a day… I stayed there, however, because it was easier than trying to find something else. Go figure…

Last month I finally had enough… I quit, not knowing what to do next.

Someone I know owns a bakery, and a friend recommended I should ask him whether they are hiring. I did, and they were. And last week I started my new job! I work in the bakery store, selling goodies, stocking shelves, etc, and I am loving it! I love the fact that I can be on my feet and interact with other people, not just sit and stare at a screen. There is a lot of walking and lifting involved, and I’m happy to do that – so much better than a chair and a desk. The best part? No, it’s not the free samples that come with the job… It’s waking up in the morning, not trying to think of an excuse to call in sick. I actually wake up excited to go to work, and that alone would be enough.

I guess it tells something that this is my second week at the new job, and I still don’t know how much I’m getting paid… I keep forgetting to ask – it doesn’t seem so important…

Another beginning: About a month ago my friend gathered a group of young women together for a knitting club. There are four of us, and I’m the teacher / mentor for the group since I have the most knitting experience. One of the girls had never knitted before, another had tried a few times, and third was quite good already with knitting and purling. We started meeting once a week, and these meetings have become a source of strength and friendship to me. I did not know two of the girls at all before but it’s amazingly easy to connect with people while knitting…

In the month that we’ve been learning together all the girls have learned how to knit and purl, how to read basic patterns and how to increase and decrease. They are smart, aren’t they? 🙂 One has even learned how to knit in round; she really wanted to make a pair of legwarmers…

The best part of the group, though, is not the knitting (What? No?) but the deep discussions we end up having. We talk about life and death, work and relationships, in a very open, caring way. Ever since I moved to Canada almost seven years ago I’ve missed that kind of girl company. I have friends, yes, but there’s just something when you have a group of like-minded people who get together regularly, whether it is for knitting or not. I really hope that as long as we all live in the same area we can continue to meet once a week, for the next 40 years if possible. 🙂

Leave a Reply

