Banana Bread Cookies, take 1

I have decided that banana bread with chocolate chips would be even more awesome if it could be made into cookies. Therefore I have decided to make those cookies, and so, some time ago, I gave it a try.

First step: take a recipe for banana bread. Here’s the one I use:

Banana Bread

1/2 cup butter (in room temperature)
3/4 cup  sugar
2 eggs
1 cup all-purpose flour
1 cup whole wheat flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
3 large bananas, mashed
1 tsp vanilla

Cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition.

Sift together the flours, baking soda and salt and add into the butter mixture, mixing well. Fold in banana and vanilla.

Pour into a loaf pan and bake in 350F for 50-60min until a cake tester comes out clean. Cool in a pan for 10min, then transfer to a cooling rack.

So there you have it… This is what I usually make, although I usually use some extra banana to make the loaf extra moist. Modifying this recipe for cookie purposes can take some time…

Take 1, adjust the amount of flour to make a thicker dough. I added about 3/4 cup (unfortunately I didn’t write it down) and a couple of handfuls of chocolate chips. Result: Banana scones with chocolate… They looked like cookies but the texture was soft and mushy. They were really good – just not cookies.

I will try this again some time… I think I need to adjust the amount of eggs as well. Stay tuned…

One thought on “Banana Bread Cookies, take 1

  1. This is a great project! I am 100% behind both banana bread and cookies, so mixing them is evil genius. Looking forward to the results of this experiment!

Leave a Reply

