Rhubarb pie – or is it a cake…?

I’m a little bit behind here… Channing and I have been baking up a storm! Last week we met and made bread, cookies (mmm! The best recipe ever! I’ll post it later) and hot cross buns. Or actually she made the hot cross buns, I hang out with the little ones… But those are seriously delicious hot cross buns… Recipe for those will follow as well, since there’s no hurry because Easter is gone.

And yesterday we baked again, this time in a storm. The weather was crazy outside, the hail was the size of my thumb nail at times and when I ran to the garden to get some rhubarb (and to get wet) I heard thunder in a distance. But we had a good time as usual. We made bread from this recipe. We took a risk and doubled the portion, and it worked really well. The only problem is that the loaf is really big – I have to put the slices sideways in my toaster and still part of the slice is sticking out… ๐Ÿ™‚

We also made banana muffins adapting my banana bread recipe; we added an extra banana to make them moist and some chocolate chips. (“Should I measure the chocolate?” “Nah, why bother…” “Is that enough? You know what, I just add a little bit more…”) Those were really good muffins… ๐Ÿ™‚

And then we made the rhubarb cake. Earlier during the week Channing was asking people on her facebook for good bread recipes and I promised a rhubarb cake recipe as a trade-off. We actually call this “Rhubarb pie” in Finnish but I’ve learned that the term confuses people who expect a traditional pie when they hear it… So rhubarb cake it is.

And major joy – fresh rhubarb! ๐Ÿ˜€

Rhubarb cake

100g butter
100ml sugar
1 egg
200ml all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder

400ml chopped rhubarb
2 tbsp sugar

Cream together butter and sugar, add egg and mix well. Sift together flour and baking powder and add into the butter mixture.

Grease a 9×9″ cake pan or 9″ flan. Spread the batter into the pan, reserving a few tablespoons’ worth. Spread the rhubarb pieces on top and sprinkle with sugar. Drop spoonfuls of reserved batter on top.

Bake in 175C / 350F for about 20-25min. until GBD (golden brown and delicious).

Let cool and serve. Goes well with ice cream… ๐Ÿ™‚

You can double the recipe as well – bake it in 9×13″ cake pan and increase the baking time for about 10min.

*************************

I will get the rest of those recipes to you, I promise… I still have those banana cookies that I need to figure out, and I need to test the pulla recipe with dry yeast… So much to bake, so little time…

3 thoughts on “Rhubarb pie – or is it a cake…?

Leave a Reply

