The Art of Distraction

Do you know what this is?

It may look like a bunch of buttons in a string. However, it is nothing short of a masterpiece, a stroke of genius. It is a reason the dinner got done last night.

5pm seems to be the time limit when Jacob is done with his day. He just wants to be cuddled and loved, and he doesn’t mind playing as long as he doesn’t have to play alone. However, that’s also the time when the dinner needs to get done. Hubby usually gets home at around that time so that’s fine but yesterday he had an appointment after work. So I needed to distract Jacob with something.

I happen to love buttons. I have a big glass jar of buttons in a shelf, just because they look pretty. I have vintage buttons from 1940s and 1950s, I have playful plastic buttons in different shapes and sizes. And I have boring, old shirt buttons but they too have their place in my jar.

First I took a selection of the most colourful buttons and put them in a plastic container for Jacob. He was interested for about 15 seconds but then he stopped caring because he couldn’t get them. Had to think of something else.

So I chose a bunch of big, colourful and nicely textured buttons and put them in a piece of heavy-duty cotton string. I wanted to make sure Jacob couldn’t chew through the string… And this little thing kept him perfectly occupied for about half an hour! The buttons jingle when you shake them, they make even more noise when you put them into a plastic tub (and also when you pour them out of it), and they are fun to chew.

I hope the charm of the buttons will continue for a little while…

2 thoughts on “The Art of Distraction

  1. Oooh, I need to try spools… Jacob just plays with them as is for now. Today he hit his friend with a spool that was stuck at the end of a wooden spoon. Many tears followed…

  2. I strung empty thread spools on a cord for Bria the other week. It’s the best toy ever. She likes the buttons on my long sweater; perhaps I’ll try to find interesting buttons to string for her, too. Thanks for the idea!

Leave a Reply

