Musings on Motherhood

My boy was born a year ago. And what a year it’s been! I read a lot about pregnancy and birth, some books also about babies and being a parent, but nothing really prepared me for this year. There is so much more…

I’ve learned that I have a whole lot more patience than I thought. I’ve also learned that it’s not quite enough to put up with everything…

I’ve learned to function with less sleep than I thought possible. On a regular basis. For months.

I’ve learned that dishes don’t always need to get done (Who am I kidding? I knew this one already…), crackers and cheese are a perfectly acceptable lunch, and nap times are precious and should not be wasted. I’ve learned that sometimes the best thing I can do is to ignore the dust bunnies and play with blocks or read story books instead.

I’ve learned that people are extremely generous and helpful. There has been no lack of hand-me-downs for Jacob, to a degree that I’ve taken bags and bags to a thrift store or given them to someone else who needed them. We also had a lot of help in the beginning; friends brought us food, cleaned the house, stayed overnight to help with the baby… I’ve also learned that “call me if you need anything, anytime” doesn’t always mean it. However, I claimed many of those promises regardless. And no one ever dared NOT to help. At least that one time.

I’ve learned that the world is a wonderful, miraculous place full of exciting things like birds, dogs and garbage trucks. I’ve learned that everything we see has the potential of being the Best Thing Ever for that little while. And I’m learning to look at the world in a very exciting new way. 🙂

I’ve also discovered that my heart can barely contain all the love I feel when I look at J. He’s so precious to me, and I love him more than I thought possible.

I am thankful for every single day that I have been a mother. And I am looking forward to many more. It’s not the easiest job in the world but it’s most definitely worth every sleepless hour and every tear. There is so much joy that I wouldn’t know otherwise.

My boys

3 thoughts on “Musings on Motherhood

  1. Elina, when you had that glint in your eye early last year and I guessed you were pregnant I knew you would be a wonderful mother to your baby.
    The love grows if possible with every day.Ii look at our Mary and she is 31, my heart is forever full and in gratitude that i was part of her creation. so my dear you are so full of joy and love , keep it flowing. June

  2. I knew you would enjoy having your very own child. I wanted expectantly for you two to grow to the point of wanting your very own. I saw in you Elina the gift of loving children and wanted so much for you to experience the joys and sorrows of nurturing a child of your own.. That is why you were chosen as Amy’s God parents.The gift of being a mother is one of the greatest gifts on earth. I’m so glad you are enjoying the special gift, your son Jacob. Many blessings to ALL OF YOU. .Excellent article from a mother’s heart.

Leave a Reply

