Heart Attack!

Valentine’s Day is coming up, and while I’ve never been a big fan of the holiday, this year I’ve been doing something… The whole project is a surprise to someone who may or may not be reading my blog so I can’t reveal the details until in a couple of weeks. But I’ve been knitting hearts!

It’s really easy to find crochet heart patterns but I had a hard time finding a nice knitted heart pattern. And then, when I started knitting one night, hubby was using the computer so I couldn’t get on Ravelry… So I made up a pattern, and it turned out nice. I have both garter stitch and stockinette stitch variations. I wanted to share it with you, so here goes:

Image

Heart Attack Hearts 

Gauge is not important here. I made hearts with worsted and DK yarns, using 5mm needles with worsted (18 sts / 4″) and 4mm needles with DK (24 sts / 4″). With that gauge, the small DK hearts measure 3.5″ across, and the large worsted hearts measure 4.5″ across.

Small garter stitch heart:

CO 25 sts
Row 1 (wrong side) and all odd rows: Knit
Row 2: k1, m1, k 10, sk2togp, k 10, m1, k1
Row 4: like row 2
Row 6: k11, sk2togp, k 11
Row 8: ssk, k 8, sk2togp, k8, k2tog
Row 10:  ssk, k 6, sk2togp, k6, k2tog
Row 12: Bind off while continuing to work the decreases. Ssk, BO 4 leaving the last st on the right needle, work the centre decrease (sk2togp), continue BO until last 2 sts, k2tog, BO to end.

Large garter stitch heart: 

CO 29 sts
Row 1 (wrong side) and all odd rows: Knit
Row 2: k1, m1, k 12, sk2togp, k 12, m1, k1
Rows 4 and 6: like row 2
Row 8: k13, sk2togp, k 13
Row 10: ssk, k 10, sk2togp, k 10, k2tog
Row 12: ssk, k 8, sk2togp, k8, k2tog
Row 14:  ssk, k 6, sk2togp, k6, k2tog

Row 16: Bind off while continuing to work the decreases as in the small heart pattern.

For stockinette stitch hearts, knit as above, replacing all the wrong side rows EXCEPT the first and the last one with the following:

K 3, p until the last 3 sts, k 3.

The first and the last wrong side row are knitted.

I hope this makes sense… If it doesn’t, please let me know. 🙂 And I’ll reveal the actual project in a couple of weeks…

Image

8 thoughts on “Heart Attack!

    • Hello, sorry I didn’t see your message earlier.
      Yes, you can make the heart in stockinette by purling the even rows. I’d recommend knitting the first and last two or three stitches of each purl row, though, otherwise the edges won’t stay straight.

  1. I’d like to present your patterns to my knitting guild as a lovely project. Even though you have them in your blog, I thought I’d ask permission first.

Leave a Reply

