New challenge

It’s time to admit what I’ve already known for a long time – I’m a lousy blogger. I often have a great idea of what I want to write, and just can’t find the time to sit down and do it. :/ My apologies. I’d like to say “I’ll write more from now on” but considering how it’s been, that probably won’t happen. But I keep trying.

Well, it’s almost September, and fall is right behind the corner. It’s my favourite season for many reasons, and I always feel energized in the fall. I’m looking forward to that; the summer has been long and hot, and I’m feeling weary.

I’m taking on a new challenge from the beginning of September. I’ve been reading more and more about the garment industry, and how they operate. I’ve known some of the stuff for a long time – most cheap t-shirts are products of slave labour. They’re also made to break down soon so that we’d have to buy more sooner rather than later. All very clever for the bottom line, and completely unethical.

Here’s an article I saw recently, and it was the last straw. I need to get out of this hamster wheel of buying cheap stuff. So I’m making a one-year-long pledge NOT to buy any clothing for myself or for J, with the exception of undergarments, socks and swimwear if needed. I’ll continue to accept hand-me-downs for J, and I’ll make the rest. It shouldn’t be too hard, I won’t need much new stuff, and he gets lots of hand-me-downs. I know my pair of cheap Old Navy jeans will wear out, then I’ll just learn to make my own or wear skirts. Whatever, I’ll manage.

I’m leaving hubby out of the pledge. He wears dress shirts and pants to work, and those would be a bit much to make… Then again, his stuff doesn’t wear out so quickly either. I might make him some t-shirts when his old ones are done.

So that’s what I’m planning to do, and I’d like to say I’m going to write about it weekly but how realistic is that? Oh, well, I’ll update every once in a while.

Leave a Reply

